Havering Sports Council received a high standard of nominations for the Borough's long-established annual sports awards. Finalists were invited to a Sports Awards Presentation Buffet Evening (supported by McDonalds Restaurants of Romford), held at Upminster Golf Club, on Monday 19th February - This occasion, the highlight of our Borough's sporting year, saw winners & runners-up presented with their awards by dignitaries & sponsors' representatives. The occasion was held in the presence of Her Worshipful The Mayor of Havering, Counciller Linda Van den Hende.
Junior Sports Competitor-of-the-Year (sponsored by West & Coe Funeral Directors)
Winner - Max Law - International javelin thrower.
Runner-up - Liam Purton - International badminton player.
Sports Competitor-of-the-Year(sponsored by MDS Printers of Upminster)
Winner -  Geoff Webb - International rifle shooter.
Runner-up - Graham Newberry - International figure skater.
Disability Sports Competitor-of-the-Year(sponsored by the Beadle family)
Winner -  Bradley Donovan - County standard cricketer, and coach.
Runner-up -  Keiran O'Hara - County standard middle-distance runner.
Sports Volunteer-of-the-Year (sponsored by Cllr.John Mylod)
Winner - Sam Harrison - Athletics throwing events coach.
 Runner-up - Elise Donn - Tennis coach and umpire.
Senior School Team-of-the-Year (sponsored by Brentwood M & E Services)
Winner- Coopers Coburn Gymnastics team.
Runner-up -  Coopers Coburn Athletics team
Primary School Team-of-the-Year (sponsored by Cllr.Melvin Wallace)
Winner - St.Edward's Athletics Team
Runner-up - St.Edward's Water Polo Team.
Sports Club-of-the-Year (sponsored by DMS Fencing)
Winner - Havering Athletic Club.
Runner-up - Havering Triathlon Club.
The Doug Riden Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by McDonalds Restaurants of Romford)
This awarded to a Havering resident who's given 15 years or more committed & dedicated service to local sport. It's awarded in memory of former Havering Sports Council President Doug Riden, who himself gave decades of meritorious service to local sport before passing-on in 2002.  
Winner - Warren Roe
                                                      Issued by Havering Sports Council (01708-377382)